Who qualifies for an IEP?

A student must meet the eligibility criteria for one of the 13 eligibility categories under IDEA (Individuals with Disabilities Education Act) and be in need of specialized services in order to qualify for an IEP. The student’s disability must adversely affect their educational performance. The eligibility categories for an IEP include:

  • Autism
  • Blindness
  • Deafness
  • Emotional Disturbance
  • Hearing Impairment
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Multiple Disabilities
  • Orthopedic Impairment
  • Other Health Impaired
  • Specific Learning Disability
  • Speech or Language Impairment
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Visual Impairment